The Research Committee determines areas of research policies and assumes responsibility for assessing grant applications. The Chairperson must be an ESAIC Active Member. The number of appointed members is 8 (including the Chairperson of the Committee)  + 1 ad hoc member, but may vary with the needs of the Committee.

Contact the Research Committee.



Alexander Zarbock


Thomas Fuchs-BuderPast-Chairperson
Jens MeierMember
Patrick Meybohm Member
Nicola Disma Member
Marc Coburn Member
Hans Donald De Boer Member
Michelle Chew Member
Esther M. Pogatzki-Zahn Member
Idit Matot Scientific Committee Chairperson
Wolfgang Buhre* Ad hoc Member (Mentorship Programme Leader)
Sylvia Daamen*Research Manger
Slama Farsi*Clinical Data Manager
Shruthi Madappa*Clinical Data Manager
Anvesh Jallapally*Interim Clinical Data Manager
Jocelyne Dewulf*Project Manager
Hélène Devroye*Project Manager
Raquel Hernandez Martinez*Project Manager
Juliette Ly*Junior Project Manager
Isabelle Boost*Interim Clinical Trial Assistant
Thijs Van den Hende*Interim Clinical Trial Assistant
Elisabeth Herten*Clinical Trial Assistant
Martine Van Hove*Interim Clinical Trial Assistant
Sarah De Coster*Clinical Study Coordinator
Pierre Harlet*Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator
Julia Dowell*Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator
Saman Sepehr*Junior Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator
Sophie Debouche*Junior Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator
Sara Raza Khan*Junior Research & Clinical Trial Coordinator

Activities* No voting rights

The ESAIC Research Committee proposes a comprehensive programme of activities aiming to promote excellent research in all fields of anaesthesiology throughout Europe.
For more information please visit the Research Section.

Research Groups

The Research Committee currently supports the following Research Groups:

  • Pose-Trial
  • PROVENet
  • The PAIN OUT Group


Go to the Research Group page for more information.