John Zorab was an anaesthesiologist who made a major contribution to anaesthesia and intensive care both in the UK, in Europe and worldwide. He was co-founder of the European Academy of Anaesthesiology and President of the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists.

Every year, the European Society of Anaesthesiology grants the John Zorab Prize to the candidate who obtains the best score at the European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Part I examination.

What is granted?

In recognition of the outstanding achievement, the European Society of Anaesthesiology grants different advantages to the winner:

  • The winner does not pay the application fee for the EDAIC Part II examination. It is not mandatory for the winner to sit the EDAIC Part II the year following the award. He/she preserves the right to take this examination without a limitation in time.
  • The congress registration fee will be waived the year following the Part I examination.
  • The winner will be awarded during the Euroanaesthesia Congress, at the Awards Ceremony the year following the Part I examination


Candidates do not need to apply to be eligible for the John Zorab Prize, they participate automatically as they sit the EDAIC Part I examination.