Dear investigator,

Thank you for your interest in the MOPED Study. Prior recruitment, there are several steps to complete. Once all the steps are final and we are aware of your starting date, we will send you the access for the eCRF in OpenClinica.

NOTE : Principal Investigator must be a qualified doctor and all documents must be signed by the PI.

Mandatory steps before starting recruitment :

  1. Be listed on the list of participating Centres
  1. Sign the protocol : please find the page in your MyESAIC account

Access to Protocol, synopsis and signature page is given to you via MyESAIC account provided by Research Team

3.Use validated patient docs Translation if your country is not in there, or you are missing a document, please contact your National Coordinator.

4.Approval docs : Each centre must send 2 things :

    1. Approval Coversheet
    2. Letter of approval/notification receipt from ethics/local authorizing body available

5.Send eCRF users list: Max 3 persons with eCRF profiles per hospital. Investigator profile + 2 additional collaborators (provide first name, last name and email addresses)

6.Sign the Data Processing/Transfer Agreement : Please contact us to have the specific document required for your country


Chief Investigator

Prof. Donal J Buggy (Mater University Hospital, University College Dublin, Ireland)



  • Call for centres: Ongoing
  • Recruitment of patients: foreseen for 2021


Study Objectives:

The main is to conduct the first major observational European epidemiological study on the perioperative management of diabetic patients undergoing surgery and their 30-day postoperative patient-centred outcome.


Join the Study

MOPED is a prospective, international, multicentre, observational cohort study. This study will include as many participating institutions as possible across the world. It is planned to recruit at least 5,000 patients.

Would your hospital like to join this study as an actively contributing research centre? The ‘Call for Centres form’ must be filled in online. The completion of this form will facilitate coordination and is mandatory for participation in ESAIC CTN. ESAIC Secretariat will then contact you providing you with additional information. Please visit the call for centres page.


Like more detail?



Steering Committee

  • Prof. Donal J Buggy, Principal Investigator – Anaesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine, Mater University Hospital, School of Medicine, University College Dublin, Ireland. Editorial Board, British Journal of Anaesthesia. Chairman, ESAIC Onco-Anaesthesiology Research Group. Chairman, EU COST Action 15204 Euro-Periscope.
  • Dr  Jeroen Hermanides, Steering committee member – MD, PhD, Consultant Anaesthetist & Principal Investigator, Amsterdam Universitair Medische Centra, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Markus W. Hollmann, Steering committee member – DEAA, Amsterdam UMC, University of Amsterdam, Department of Anesthesiology, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Alexander Zarbock, Steering Committee Member – Chair, Department of Anesthesiology, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine, University Hospital of Münster, Germany
  • Prof. Mark Coburn, ESAIC Research Committee Representative – Department of Anaesthesia University Hospital RWTH Aachen, Germany
  • Dr Malachy Columb; Statistical Advisor – Consultant in Anaesthesia & Intensive Medicine. Manchester University Hospitals Foundation Trust, Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester. Research Methods and Statistics Editor at the European Journal of Anaesthesiology.



The Study is entirely sponsored by a grant from the European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Clinical Trial Network (ESAIC CTN). The ESAIC CTN provides an infrastructure for clinical research in the fields of Anaesthesia, Pain, Intensive Care and Emergency Medicine by transnational European collaborative studies.


Participating Countries


Contact us

European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care

Rue des Comédiens 24
1000 Brussels, Belgium
T: +32 2 743 32 94 / +32 2 210 94 14
F: +32 2 743 32 98