Webinar on Medication Safety


Scientific Faculty

Webinar Activity Chair:
Prof. Teodora-Orhidee Nicolescu
President of the European Society of Computing and Technology in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care
Oklahoma City, USA

Scientific Faculty Leader and Host:
Prof. Benedikt Preckel
Amsterdam University Medical Centers, location Academic Medical Centre AMC,
University of Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Dr. Jannicke Mellin-Olsen
President World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists,
Board member, Patient Safety Movement Foundation
Bærum Hospital
Oslo, Norway

Dr.  David Whitaker
Chair of the European Board of Anaesthesiology Patient Safety Committee
Manchester, United Kingdom

Scientific Support:
Dr. Maria Lema
Anesthesia and Reanimation Department.
Hospital Universitario Gregorio Marañon
Madrid, Spain

Target Audience
This webinar is targeted at Anaesthesiologists, residents, anesthesia nurses, intensive care nurses, ward nurses and ward doctors

After Taking Part
This webinar will enable participants to:

  • Identify principles of medication safety
  • Describe pathways to insure medication safety
  • Apply scientific advances to everyday practice
  • WHO 3rd Global Patient Safety Challenge
  • Be aware of the European Board of Anaesthesiology recommendations for safe medication practice

Key points

  • Medication errors are one of the most occurring mistakes in hospital care
  • Medication safety is part of the culture of safety
  • Technological advances –key to decrease errors
  • Describe types of errors and prevention strategies

Technical Settings
This webinar is available on PC, Tablet and Smartphone. For the best viewing experience, a high-speed internet connection is required


Organised by
ESAIC eLearning committee


This webinar was sponsored by an unrestricted educational grant by Aspen