Incoming Scientific Committee Chair

ESAIC is pleased to announce that Prof. Dr Michel MRF Struys has been appointed by the Board of Directors to serve as Scientific Committee Chair for the period 1 January 2024 to 31 December 2026.

As of 1st July 2022, he will start in the position of Chair-Elect and he will join Prof. Dr Idit Matot, current Scientific Committee Chair (until December 2023), in chairing the Scientific Committee.

Prof. Struys, MD, PhD, FRCA is a Professor and Chair at the Department of Anaesthesiology, University Medical Center Groningen, University of Groningen (Groningen, The Netherland)s. He is also affiliated as a Professor at the Department of Basic and Applied Medical Sciences, Ghent University (Ghent, Belgium). He is a Board-certified anesthesiologist and clinical pharmacologist in Belgium and The Netherlands. His main research interest is in clinical pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics, drug administration technology and drug effect monitoring. He co-authored more than 250 scientific publications and various books and book chapters. He is Director for Grants and International relations for the British Journal of Anaesthesia, and Associate Editor for Anaesthesiology His main clinical interest is in anaesthesia for oncological and abdominal surgery.

He served as Chair of the ESAIC Scientific Subcommittee on Pharmacology until 2020.

5 replies

Jannicke Mellin-Olsen
Congratulations! Much hard and inspiring work lies ahead of you. Big shoes to fill, but this will be great. I am looking forward to attend future EAs :-)
5 months ago
Francisco Lobo
6 months ago
Wolfgang Buhre
Dear Michel, Well deserved, I am looking forward working with you in the upcoming years.
6 months ago
Koen Reyntjens
congrats Michel!
6 months ago
Vereecke Hugo
Congratulations Prof Struys! Well deserved!
7 months ago

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.