The European Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care (ESAIC) is seeking to recruit two new Committee Member of the ESAIC Teach the Teacher (TtT) Committee. The ESAIC recognises that the standard of teaching of Anaesthesiology is a vital element of ensuring that our patients receive high quality safe care. Many Anaesthesiologists are involved in teaching; however, they are not often taught how to deliver education. To address this need the ESAIC developed the Teach the Teachers course – a two-week course for Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Specialists to improve their teaching skills

The three-year mandate of the member of the Teach the Teacher (TtT) of the ESAIC becomes vacant on 1 January 2023.


The new member will start on 1 January 2023. The Teach the Teacher (TtT) course has been upgraded from a Task Force into a Committee under the umbrella of Education and Training Committee (EdTC) is currently composed of four members. Therefore the ESAIC currently seeks to establish an formal Committee, existing out of 1 Chair and 3 Committee Members. Two Committee Members started in 2022 and the third in 2023.

The TtT member post requires close liaison with the Teach the Teacher Department of the ESAIC Secretariat in Brussels throughout the year to:

  • Recruit TtT applicants, either directly or via the National Representatives (Members of Council or Presidents of the National Member Societies and via the ESAIC website
  • Review and score the TtT applications selecting those awarded every year.
  • Review the Faculty applications to fulfil the requirements to be included as Faculty member.
  • Play an active role in the improvement of the Course Material of the
  • Play an active role in the ESAIC Teach the Teacher Committee.
  • Attend the TtT Committee meetings at least twice a year; one meeting of the TtT Committee takes place face-to-face at the Euroanaesthesia Congress. Other TtT Committee meetings will take place as video- or teleconferences.


Applications are encouraged from active ESAIC members who meet the following criteria:

  • Must be an ESAIC Active Member or Affiliate Member.
  • Diplomate of the TTT Masterclass
  • Experience as a Faculty Member for the Week 1 and Week 2 of the course
  • Experience of teaching, training, research, publishing, and reviewing in Anaesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine, Intensive Care Medicine, Critical Emergency Medicine and in Pain management
  • ESAIC contributions.
  • National and international teaching experience.

Gender balance and representation from throughout Europe will be encouraged on all Committees. No more than two representatives working professionally in any one country (except for ex-officio or co-opted members with no voting rights), and no more than one representative from the same institution, can sit on any Committee/Subcommittee. In special circumstances, the Board of Directors could grant an exception to this rule.

Term of Office

The mandate is for three years officially starting on 1 January 2023, renewable twice for one year (maximum of 5 years).


Travel, accommodation and other necessary expenses

  • Incurred to attend meetings are covered by the ESAIC as per the ESAIC Expense Reimbursement Policy.
  • Incurred to carry out the Part 1 and Part 2 of the TtT course will be covered by the ESAIC as per the ESAIC Teach the Teacher Subcommittee policy


If you are interested and wish to apply, please send:

  • A short curriculum vitae (2 pages)
  • The application form duly filled in (detailing the adherence to the requirements set forth above)
  • Disclose any conflict of interest you may have

Your application file (in the English language) must be sent in 1 file to the Teach the Teacher no later than 30 June 2022 (23:59) CET with the following subject ‘ESAIC Teach the Teacher Committee Member – Vacancy 2023’.


If you would like to discuss any aspect of this post, please contact the Teach the Teacher Chairman Dr Aeyal Raz

For more information about the ESAIC Trainee Exchange Programme Committee please visit the ESAIC website.