The ESAIC is seeking to recruit the future Chairperson of the Scientific Committee.

The three-year tenureship of the Chairperson of the ESAIC Scientific Committee (SC) becomes vacant on 1 January 2024. The future chairperson will be appointed on 1 July 2022 and will spend 18 months as Deputy Chair before becoming the SC Chairperson. The Scientific Committee is the biggest ESAIC committee. It is an umbrella committee gathering 16 scientific sub-committees, with about 100 members. For more information please click here. The new Chairperson will take over from Professor Idit Matot (Tel Aviv, Israel), current Chair of the Scientific Committee.

The mandate lasts 6 years, split as follows:

  • Deputy Chairperson (18 months) – 1 July 2022 – 31 December 2023
  • Chairperson (3 years)– 1 January 2024 – 31 December 2026
  • Past Chairperson (18 months) 1 January 2027 – 30 June 2028

The post requires:

  • planning the Scientific Programmes of the main ESAIC Congresses (Euroanaesthesia and Focus Meeting). This includes overseeing all the proposals, the session formats, the workshops and the pre-congresses courses;
  • planning, submission and evaluation process of the Euroanaesthesia abstracts and poster sessions;
  • planning and chairing at least 3 Scientific Committee meetings per year (one during Euroanaesthesia);
  • launching new activities and projects (Masterclasses, podcasts, etc);
  • advising the ESAIC Board of Directors concerning other meetings’ endorsements and surveys;
  • close liaison with the Scientific Department of the ESAIC Headquarters in Brussels throughout the year.

The Chairperson of the SC is appointed ex officio on the following committees:

  • Board of Directors;
  • Research Committee;
  • Education and Training Committee;
  • Patient Safety and Quality Committee;
  • Congress Committee;
  • National Organising Committee;
  • Guidelines Committee;
  • Specialist Societies Committee (as Chairperson).


Evaluation criteria

  • International scientific standing, including senior roles in anaesthesiology societies,
  • Scientific publications
  • Invited national/international lectures
  • ESAIC Committee experience
  • Experience in teaching and organising scientific meetings
  • Editorial and grant award experience.


Eligibility criteria

  • Up-to-date active ESAIC membership is required. The candidate must have been an active member for at least the last two years on the date of the application deadline.
  • Applicants must work in a different country than the current chair, who is based in Israel. For this reason, applicants from Israel are not eligible.


If you wish to apply, please send by e-mail to

  • your Curriculum Vitae, which should detail how you meet the criteria;
  • short outline (maximum two-pages A4) of your goals and perspectives as chair of the SC;
  • list of publications and H-index.

Applications must be received no later than 28 February 2022.

The appointment will be made by the ESAIC Board following a recommendation by the Nominations Committee. Shortlisted applicants will be interviewed to select the successful candidate.


If you would like to discuss any aspect of this procedure, please contact:
Raffaella Donadio
ESAIC Education and Scientific Affairs Manager
+32 (0)2 210 57 71