The Scientific Committee (SC) fulfils the following functions:

  • Determines the Scientific Programme for the Annual Euroanaesthesia Meeting
  • Monitors the process of the Scientific Programme at the Annual Meeting
  • Assesses abstracts submitted for presentation at the Annual Meeting and proposes the Best Abstracts
  • Coordinates and administers the Euroanaesthesia Best Abstract Prize
  • Determines the Scientific Programme for the ESAIC Focus Meeting
  • Carries out other functions as decided by the Board



Andreas Hoeft



Idit Matot Elect Chairperson
Thomas Fuchs-Buder Research Committee Chairperson
Ilona Bobek Education and Training Committee Chairperson
Daniel Arnal Patient Safety and Quality Chairperson
Raffaella Donadio* Scientific Affairs Manager
Emilie Nootens* Scientific Programme Coordinator
Sarah Herbineaux* Scientific Programme Administrator
Eva Klabusayova* Trainee Representative

No voting rights

Scientific Committee Policy:

Scientific Committee Declaration of Conflicts of Interest:

Scientific Subcommittees

1. General Anaesthesiology

Contact the SSC1.

Daniela Ionescu (Romania)

Anthony Absalom (Netherlands) Past Chairperson
Konstantinos Stroumpoulis (Greece) Member
Hugo Vereecke (Belgium) Member
Henrik Rueffert (Germany) representing the European Malignant Hyperthermia Group (EMHG) Specialist Society Member
Hans Donald De Boer (Netherlands) representing the Enhanced Recovery After Surgery Society for Perioperative Care (ERAS) Specialist Society Member
Paul Michel Mertes (France) representing the International Suspected Perioperative Allergy Group (ISPAR) Specialist Society Member

2. Ambulatory Anaesthesia

Contact the SSC2.

Gilda Cinnella (Italy)

Jeroen Hermanides (Netherlands) Member
Tatjana Simurina (Croatia) Member
Ron Flaishon (Israel) Member

3. Regional Anaesthesia

Contact the SSC3.

Luc Sermeus (Belgium)

Eric Albrecht (Switzerland) Past Chaiperson
Alan Macfarlane (United Kingdom) Member
Tatiana Sidiropoulou (Greece) Member

4. Obstetric Anaesthesiology

Contact the SSC4.

Carolyn Weiniger (Israel)

Frédéric Mercier (France) Past Chairperson
Dominique Chassard (France) Member
Nuala Lucas (United Kingdom) Member

5. Paediatric Anaesthesiology

Contact the SSC5.

Nicola Disma (Italy)

Margaret Ekstein (Israel) Member
Torsten Lauritsen (Denmark) Member
Maren Kleine-Brueggeney (United Kingdom) Member
Nada Sabourdin (France)
representing the European Society for Paediatric Anaesthesiology (ESPA)
Specialist Society Member

6. Neuroanaesthesiology

Contact the SSC6.

Vincent Bonhomme (Belgium)

Alexander Zlotnik (Israel) Past Chairperson
Martin Söhle (Germany) Member
Chiara Robba (Italy) Member
Aeyal Raz (Israel) Member

7. Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anaesthesiology

Contact the SSC7.

Bernard Cholley (France)

Jean-Luc Fellahi (France) Past Chairperson
Nandor Marczin (United Kingdom) Member
Mona Momeni (Belgium) Member
Steffen Rex (Belgium) representing the European Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthesiologists (EACTA) Specialist Society Member

8. Acute and Chronic Pain and Palliative Medicine Pain Management

Contact the SSC8.

Ulrike Stamer (Switzerland)
Esther Pogatzki-Zahn (Germany) Past Chairperson
Hélène Beloeil (France) Member
Kris Vissers (Netherlands) Member

 9. Intensive Care Medicine

Contact the SSC9.

Christian Putensen (Germany)
Cesare Gregoretti (Italy) Past Chairperson
Mikhail Kirov (Russia) Member
Caterina Aurilio (Italy) Member
Michael Sander (Germany) Member
Alexander Zarbock (Germany) Member
Gary Mills (United Kingdom) Member
Manu Malbrain (Belgium) representing the World Society of the Abdominal Compartment Syndrome (WSACS) Specialist Society Member

10. Critical Emergency Medicine: Trauma and Resuscitation

Contact the SSC10.

Luca Brazzi (Italy)

Jacob Steinmetz (Denmark) Member
Bernd Böttiger (Germany) Member
Kurt Ruetzler (United States) Member
Ayten Saracoglu (Turkey) Member
Giuseppe Ristagno (Italy) Member

11. Respiration and Airway Management

Contact the SSC11.

Massimiliano Sorbello (Italy)

Kemal Tolga Saracoglu (Turkey) Member
Peter Biro (Switzerland) Member
Jan-Paul Mulier (Belgium) representing the European Society for Peri-operative Care of the Obese Patient (ESPCOP) Specialist Society Member
Rudiger Noppens (Germany) representing the European Airway Management Society (EAMS) Specialist Society Member

12. Transfusion, Haemostasis and Thrombosis

Contact the SSC12.

Christian von Heymann (Germany)

Christian Fenger-Eriksen (Denmark)  Past Chairperson
Christa Boer (Netherlands) Member
Pierre Albaladejo (France) Member
Dana Rodica    Tomescu (Romania) representing the  Liver Intensive Care Group of Europe (LICAGE)  Specialist Society Member

13. Pharmacology

Contact the SSC13.

Michel Struys (The Netherlands)
Philip Hopkins (United Kingdom) Past Chairperson
Tony Gin (China) Member
Maria Wittmann (Germany) Member


14. Monitoring, Ultrasound and Equipment

Contact the SSC14.

Bernd Saugel (Germany)
Thomas Scheeren (Netherlands) Past Chairperson
Valérie Billard (France) Member
Oliver Kimberger (Austria) Member
Teodora Nicolescu (Romania) representing the European Soceity for Computing and Technology in Anaesthesia and Intensive Care (ESCTAIC) Specialist Society Member
Nicholas Moore (United Kingdom) representing the Society for Ultrasound Anaesthesia (SUA)  Specialist Society Member
Adrian Wong (United Kingdom) representing the International Fluid Academy (IFA)  Specialist Society Member

15. Geriatric Anaesthesiology

Contact the SSC15.

Concezione Tommasino (Italy)
Mark Coburn (Germany) Past Chairperson
Paola Aceto (Italy) Member
Ana Kowark (Germany) Member

16. Ethics

Contact the SSC16.

Hartmut Buerkle (Germany)

Paul McConnell (United Kingdom) Member
Antoine Baumann (France) Member
Ornella Piazza (Italy) Member