The Patient Safety and Quality Committee strives to accomplish this vision as a dynamic international leader in Patient Safety and Quality for anaesthesia, perioperative medicine, intensive care medicine, critical emergency medicine and pain medicine.

Through fostering research in projects like the Helsinki Declaration Follow Up project, disseminating the latest knowledge and Patient Safety strategies through its Safer Care to Save Lives Programme, Masterclasses and workshops, advocacy through leading the European Patient Safety Summit in 2020 and collaborating and networking with other societies, the Patient Safety and Quality Committee fulfils the ESAIC’s goal to improve perioperative patient outcomes in Europe and across the world.

Contact us at




Benedikt Preckel (Netherlands)


Daniel Arnal (Spain)Past Chair
María Lema Tomé (Spain)Member
Argyro Zoumprouli (United Kingdom)Member
Basak Ceyda (Turkey)Member
Vilma Traskaite (Lithuania)Member
Maria Wittman (Germany)Member
Alex Rawlings*Patient Safety and Simulation Project Manager

Co-opted members

Edoardo De RobertisESAIC President and Board Representative
Idit MatotScientific Committee Chairperson
Federico BilottaNASC Chairperson
Christopher NeuhausPatient Safety and Quality Masterclass Director
Guttorm BratteboEBA representative
David WhitakerEBA representative
Arvid Steinar HaugenInternational Federation of Nurse Anaesthetists (IFNA) Representative
Andrew F. SmithHD-FU Research Project Leader
Donika Borisova*Trainee Representative

* No voting rights

Guy Haller*Essential Patient Safety Course Development Lead 
Maria Lema TomeAdvanced Patient Safety Course Development Lead