The Accreditation of Training in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care (ATAIC) Committee is a Joint Committee from the European Society of Anaesthesiology (ESAIC) and the European Board of Anaesthesiology (EBA).

Together with the European Diploma in Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care (EDAIC), the ATAIC aims to improve and harmonise the anaesthetic training throughout Europe by ensuring that the accredited centres meet the prerequisites of training in anaesthesia. Accredited centres will, as centres of excellence, serve as references for national visiting programmes, and hopefully also take on the role of mentoring intitutions in Europe. It is also hoped that this can promote rotation of trainers and trainees which will contribute to future safety in acute and perioperative health care in line with the intentions of the Helsinki Declaration.

The ATAIC was instituted to evaluate training programmes in terms of facilities, design of education, standard and involvement of faculty, balance between clinical training and didactic teaching and the possibility for research. The visits may be to a single unit or to a group of hospitals which are regarded as a training unit that can provide the full range of clinical services as required for complete anaesthetic training.

The inspection focuses on structure as well as process. Structure addresses resources such as medical staff, facilities, library, technical equipment, access to medical service and opportunities for research and development. Process refers to the “educational climate” and to how existing educational resources are used; whether there is a director of studies, whether training programmes are formulated and guidelines applied, how professional guidance is organised, and whether senior doctors take an active interest in the training of their younger colleagues. Good educational resources may not be used to their full potential because of inadequate involvement, and conversely, a positive educational and academic climate may compensate for material deficiencies.

The ATAIC organises hospital visits for accreditation.

Contact the ATAIC Committee.


The committee consists of 5 members and a Chairperson.



Humberto Machado (Portugal) (ESAIC)


Vladimir Cerny (Czech Republic)Member (EBA)
Anna Malisiova (Greece)Member (EBA)
Joana Mourão (Portugal)Member (EBA)
Leila Niemi-Murola (Finland)Member (ESAIC)
Thomas Sieber (Switzerland)Member (ESAIC)
Yotam Lior (Israel)*Trainee Committee Representative
Iwona Darquenne* ATAIC Coordinator and Examinations Administrator
Hugues Scipioni* Examinations Manager

*No voting rights